Chipotle Turkey Bacon Chili…Tasty Tuesday


So last week in Minnesota, much of the world heard we went to the very back of the freezer and got frozen.  I can honestly say when the thermometer reads anything below -10, I don’t leave the comforts of my own home.  But what to do about dinner? Well, as I work from home, I LOVE to smell great aromas whafting through my home in anticipation of a great dinner.  So to the kitchen I went.  Not really sure of what to make, I did my grocery shopping standing with the freezer & fridge doors wide open…yep, heard my mom in my head, “CLOSE THOSE DOORS AND DON’T DO YOUR SHOPPING IN THE FRIDGE”! It still brings a smile to my face.

Well, I thought how about creating something and never telling a soul if it is truly awful.  So I came up with Chipotle Turkey Bacon chili.

Ingredients:

1 lb of ground turkey

1/2 lb of Jimmy Deans mild or hot (depending on your taste) sausage

6-10 strips of bacon cut into bit size pieces (I like that think smoked)

1/2 green pepper cut up into small pieces

5 scallion onions cut up (using the whole onion, use more or less to taste)

1 can sliced mushrooms

1 lrg can of tomato sauce & pieces

1 can of tomato sauce

2-3 cups of V8 juice

1 can kidney beans (drained)

1 can Pinto beans (drained)

4 Tbls. of chili seasoning powder

2 tsp of Chipotle seasoning (or to your taste this will make it spice.  Start with a little and add more as you go)

3 Tbls. of sea salt

pepper to taste

(to make this recipe your own, add any other vegetables that you like in your chili, some use celery, yellow peppers or carrots) 

Cooking:

In a large kettle, put bacon in and start to cook (about 5 minutes) then add the ground turkey & sausage, cook fully.  Depending on the grade & quality of the bacon & ground turkey, you may not need to drain the meat, this will add extra flavor if you leave some of the grease to mix in with the other ingredients. While meats are cooking cut up all your vegetables, add these and cook until they are tender.  Add the mushrooms (drained) to warm, add both the kidney & pinto beans then add tomato sauces & V8 juice, add chili powder, salt & pepper.  Let simmer on stove on LOW heat until ready to serve.  I left mine on for about 5 hours.  If your sauce starts to diminish, you can add more V8, tomato sauce or even water if you like a runnier chili.

Serving suggestions:

Cheese, Sour cream, Oyester crackers, hot sauce (for more intense flavor), or any traditions your family has.

So there you have it! To my surprise, a girlfriend stopped by & she ended up staying for dinner (I told her it was her own tongue on the line) and she LOVED it!!! So I thought that I would share this creation with everyone.  HAPPY COOKING & stay warm!

THE SPIRITS TO MOVE….providing you with more than just moving advice.

Leave a Reply

